Sample Wedding Ceremony

March 14, 2010 at 12:36 am Leave a comment

Welcome

Welcome and good afternoon. Amy and George are happy that you can be here today to witness their marriage. They would especially like to thank all of the family for being here today, present or in spirit.  Amy and George would also like to thank everyone for traveling from near and far to be here on this very special day.

Statement of Marriage

Within the circle of its love, marriage encompasses all of life’s most important relationships. A wife and husband are each other’s best friend, confidant, lover, teacher, listener, and critic. There may come times when one partner is heartbroken or ailing, and the love of the other may resemble the tender caring of a parent for a child.

When two people pledge to love and care for each other in marriage, they create a spirit unique to themselves, which binds them closer than any spoken or written words. Marriage is a promise, a potential, made in the hearts of two people who love, which takes a lifetime to fulfill.

It is with this understanding, then that you, George, and you, Amy, have come to form a covenant between you in the presence of family and friends who rejoice with you in the making of this important commitment.

Invocation

We are gathered to celebrate the joining of Amy Jones and George Young in marriage. Amy and George have been thinking, planning, and preparing for this occasion for many years. As witnesses to this ceremony, let us take time to consider what this occasion means to us.

Close your eyes, take a deep breath, and think of someone for whom you care deeply. Recall some unique quality about that person that made you love them–anything unique to them. Feel yourself enter into the space of love. Pause

Now open your eyes and, with this feeling of love, let us create a symbolic space in which Amy and George may join together.

As they begin their new partnership, let us allow Amy and George to learn from and take delight in the company of one another. Let them receive from us the greatest gifts we can give–our love and support.

Personal Statements

Amy: Top 10 Reasons Why I Love You

10.             You believe in long engagements.

9.              You are able to read a set of instructions and can then wire a house

8.             You were open to the move to California after less than one month

of dating

7.             You’re a very good father to Hank

6.             You are ambitious in your career

5.              You are blonde and blue-eyed

4.              You are the last person I will ever date

3.             Besides me loving you, my parents love you very much too

2.              I love your voice.  I keep voice mails from you on my cell phone to

listen to when I travel.

And the number one reason is:

1.      I love you for being you

George: Amy, you and I have surely taken the path least traveled to get to

this day.

Although its been over 10 years since we first met, I knew after our

first few dates in Chicago that I always wanted to be with you.

You have been my architect, construction worker, painter, general

contractor and always the voice of reason as we have built our home.

I am thankful for your support in my frequent career changes. You

have always been there for me regardless of what work I have chosen.

I will always be grateful for your guidance and support.

Amy, I am continually amazed by your intellect, patience and your

wonderful sense of humor. I know you will always make me laugh.

With your love, support and advice I know there is no journey that

you and I cannot undertake. I will always love you.

Promises

Amy: George, I give to you my promise that from this day forward, you shall not walk alone; may we walk together through all things.

I promise to love you, to build with you our home that is a place of love, joy, sharing, and growing;

To be with you in all of your triumphs and adversities, happiness and sorrow;

To laugh with you in joy,

To give you my best counsel,

To do my best — I shall always try–

And above all, I promise to love you for who you are.

George, do you accept these solemn vows to be the foundation of your new life together?

I do.

Amy: Then, with this ring, I thee wed.

George: Amy, I give to you my promise that from this day forward, you shall not walk alone; may we walk together through all things.

I promise to love you, to build with you our home that is a place of love, joy, sharing, and growing;

To be with you in all of your triumphs and adversities, happiness and sorrow;

To laugh with you in joy,

To give you my best counsel,

To do my best — I shall always try–

And above all, I promise to love you for who you are.

Amy, do you accept these solemn vows to be the foundation of your new life together?

I do.

George: Then, with this ring, I thee wed.

Blessing

Now you will feel no rain.

For each of you will be shelter to the other.

Now you will feel no cold.

For each of you will be warmth to the other.

Now there is no loneliness for you

Now you are two persons

But there is one life before you.

Go now to your dwelling place to enter into the days of your togetherness.

And may your days be good and long upon the earth.

It is my honor to pronounce you husband and wife.

Will you honor each other with a kiss?

Closing Ritual

Breaking the wine glass

Ladies and Gentlemen, I present to you for the first time, Amy & George Young.

Entry filed under: All About Ceremonies. Tags: , , , , .

Selecting a minister/officiant Blessings Multiplied

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Categories

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 5 other followers


Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

